Dark of the Moon

Edit: Breaking news that would shake the world and stuff. Pressing Sentinel’s button not only makes him say his line, but also opens his mouth. This mouth opening thing is so minuscule as to be insignificant, but yes, the mouth opens.

So, got me some DotM toys. Opened up Skyhammer, Megatron and Shockwave. Along with some Thor toys, I’m resolving to do one review per day for the next, I dunno, however many toys I’ve got lined up. Skyhammer will be the first on the chopping block.

A few things to note on these “legally bought at regular retail prices at an actual toy store and done so in good faith toys” (as opposed to Stolen Chinese Toys… which, aren’t they made in Vietnam these days? But I digress).

Bonus pic after the jump.

First up, the Voyager Prime looks kind of sucky in package. Also, I skipped both the Leader and Deluxe Bumblebees on account that I’ve never liked the movie design for Bumblebee. I’ve tried to like it, but no.

I don’t wanna talk about packaging in each review, so I’ll say it here instead. Packaging is interesting. The designs are very… starry sky-ish. We get the bio and tech specs on the sides and the back’s just a promo shot of the toy. They don’t take up too much space, which means we’re probably not going to get some Voyager with a huge wingspan or backpack (since the size of the packaging is pre-determined based on the size of the largest upcoming toy). We’re back to lots of tiny flaps and slips and stuff, but it’s pretty easy to slip the tray in and out of the packaging.

All Voyagers have a Try Me for their Mech Tech, which is just these large weapons with Automorph similar to the kind in Power Core Combiner limbs. You press something and it moves gears which expand the weapon. Release and it springs back into place. Of the ones I’ve got, only Shockwave’s locks into place. Both Skyhammer’s and Megatron’s don’t seem to be lockable.

Also, 3mm clips are available on these toys.

Impressively, the amount of kibble on these guys are virtually nil. It results in smaller than expected vehicle modes, but dayuuuumn these are some clean sculpts. They’re almost like Animated toys where you can’t believe they can transform into coherent vehicle modes, especially Megatron, since he has very little identifiable truck parts showing.

Finally, pressing on Sentinel Prime’s big breasted Try Me button will get you a “I am Sentinel Prime”. That’s pretty much all he says.

This entry was posted in Dark of the Moon, Transformers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dark of the Moon

  1. Clashbomb says:

    I look forward to your upcoming reviews : ]

    • updatedude says:

      Gah, and here I am, failing to write on the first day. Hehehe, guess I better hustle.

      Thanks for reading… y’know, despite the months of dead internet air.

  2. CookSux says:

    Whoa, I’m out for a few days and I miss this!? Dude… I need to know if I should buy the DotM stuff… I’m tempted to skip out on the movie, but these look pretty bad A.

  3. clark says:

    I went to the store today to look over a huge DOTM display, made up almost completely of voyager figures. I usually don’t pay too much attention to movie-style figures, but I tell ya’, that Megatron is very tempting.

Leave a Reply

